Tarpon 100 or 120

Hi all

I’m new to kayaking and have a few questions first

I am 6’-1" 235lbs

Most of my intended use will be flat water in lakes and rivers and the occasional bay or or inlet side of OC Maryland and Assateague

I have bin looking at the Wilderness Systems Tarpon 100 and 120 I know the 120 would probably be better for someone my size but I am considering the 100 for 2 reasons. 1 the cost nearly $200 cheaper and 2 storage.

So my Question As a beginner How much / what exactly i giving up by going with the 100 over the 120.

will I regret getting the 100

Should I save and wait till next year when I can afford the 120?

You need a 140 IMHO and I have

– Last Updated: Jul-19-12 10:33 PM EST –

paddled Tarpons a long time. At your weight , which is the same as mine, you will find a 10' boat to be a real dog.I paddled a 10' SOT once and it was a miserable experience.
We are approaching the time of year (September) when outfitters sell their rental boats at considerable discounts.Or look for a used one.
To answer your question, you give up speed and tracking (ability to go straight) every time you go down in length.

Both will be slugs