Tarpon 140 vs. Tarpon 160

Hey all,

Newbie here. I’m a big guy (6’-2" & 300#), and from reading these posts, I think I settled on a Tarpon. The problem is, I went to test them out (and some others, but I think I like the Tarpon the best) and the sales guy kept pushing the Wilderness Ride. It seems a more stable boat, but I won’t be fishing, just touring and trying to get into shape. Also, he kept telling me that I don’t need the 160, that the 140 (or even the 120) would be more stable.

I want a combination of comfort, balance, and speed, and from reading the reviews here (and taking the 12’ out for a test) the 160 seemed to be an answer. Now, I’m a bit confused. What do you all think? 140 or 160?

Tarpon
160. you will be paddling the boat not the salesman.

160… NM

I’m your height, a few pounds less, and have paddled all 3 of those. I found the 160 to be the best SOT tour boat. It performed far better than the other 2 in larger stuff on the ocean and is much faster.

Ride
is a bit of a barge, but the most stable of the ones mentioned. In our N. California kayak fishing club (google it), the big 3 are Tarpon 140, 160, and OK Prowler 15’s and Trident 15’s. With your weight, do yourself a big favor and paddle all and since you are favoring the 160, definitely paddle it. Some of the bigger guys have gone from the 160 to the Hobie or a wider yak because of the stability issue and maneuverability. Tarpons were changed in 2009 and many don’t like the deck layout or reduced speed according to those who have paddled both.Keep in mind that 160 weighs in the 75 lb. range. If speed is your goal, the 160 is only very slightly faster (gps tested) than the other 15’s. Good luck.

– Last Updated: Aug-24-09 6:37 PM EST –

for your size and use go 160. don't go Ride unless you want a wide, stable (read- slow) platform. It's great for stable, just not a mover.
\
steve

The 160
The 14 footer will be a bathtub for you.

jim