Technique vs. Hull Design vs. Set-up

My wife and I have been using sea kayaks for the last several months. In that time we have bought a “vintage” WS Cape Horn 170 and a AquaTerra Sea Lion (17’), both plastic. We find the Cape Horn is both difficult to keep on a heading and resistant to corrections. We have rented a WS Tempest 170 and find it tracks straight but will turn when requested. The Sea Lion is somewhere in between. To date we have been paddling in a bay and along the coast when it is calm.

It goes without saying that we are beginners and probably have technique issues, but we don’t understand why the Cape Horn is both difficult to paddle in a straight line and turn. Is there a set-up issue that we are missing? The comments above are with the rudder out of the water.

Thanks for any advice you can provide.

Steve

How big is the person in the Cape Horn?
Height and weight. If the person paddling a kayak is too small to get it to its waterline, any kayak is going to be harder to handle. It’ll respond more to wind and it won’t be at the best waterline on its hull for turning.

There may be further issues with the basic characteristics of the Cape Horn itself, I don’t know the boat well enough to comment on it. But for starters, best to find out if the paddler and boat area proper match.

Good point about the boat’s load.
I wonder, if it is sufficiently swedeform, if the bow is “pinned” and resistant to turning, while the stern is “loose” and wandering while paddling straight ahead. We have a swedeform canoe that behaved that way, until I moved the load sternward enough to loosen the bow and get the stern more fully engaged.

A too-light load in that kayak might increase the effect of trim, especially if the boat is trimmed a fleck bow heavy.

Prelude to new?
Steve,

You laying the foundations for surprising your wife with a new kayak? Blame the gear! It’s always the gear!