Temporary Skeg for Whitewater Kayak

I am adding to a very old conversation from 2008. I tried to reply to it but it seems that the thread is so old that it has been closed. So I will provide a link to the original thread and post a new one.

Original thread:

I too am interested in adding a temporary skeg to a whitewater kayak.

I whole heartedly agree that the best route is buy a used recreational or flat water kayak rather than monkey with the designed use of my whitewater kayak.

However, I’m coming at this problem from the following perspective:

(1) I am just learning whitewater kayaking. I took a couple of classes 20 years ago with a borrowed boat and had a solid flat water roll. But I only made it onto whitewater once. Then life happened with a move to another part of the country, kids, new jobs, and I never made it back to whitewater.

(2) I’ve been wanting to try whitewater again for a while now and just got a decent deal on a used whitewater kayak (LiquidLogic Flying Squirrel 95).

(3) We live near a lot of flat water options in creeks and rivers leading to the Chesapeake Bay just 20 minutes away. While I’m not too thrilled with flat water kayaking in general, I would paddle on flat water to practice whitewater skills or to paddle with my wife. We are a good hour away from whitewater.

(4) My wife is interested in flat water paddling but not whitewater. And she will probably be agreeable to spending several hundred dollars getting a used kayak for her considering the cost of renting. But she’s not likely to be also agreeable to me buying a third used kayak for me for flat water. And I really don’t want to store three boats in our limited space anyway.

So after reading that old thread, I was pretty discouraged. But then I read this excellent article about skegs and rudders by Tom Watson: