Tendonitis And Paddling

-- Last Updated: Aug-10-05 4:14 PM EST --

Howdy,

I just recently got both tennis elbow and golfer's elbow in both my arms, what a pain in the a$$! I couldn't open a bottle top for a month. It's defiantely better now, but still healing.

From what 2 doctors have told me, it is easy to reaggetaite these tendons once you have injured them. One of my greatest fears is paddling. I really hope paddling does not reinjure my tendons or aggrevate them.

Has anyone had this before? and if so, do they get aggetated from paddling all day?

Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Regards,
Yo Han

An Ounce Of Prevention…
I have some experience with tendonitis in the knees and bicycling. A doctor gave me the following advice and it worked:

1. You need a long slow warm up. The older you are, the more important this is.

2. Take 600 mg (3 tablets) of ibuprofen shortly before biking / paddling. Take the same amount again 6 hours later.

3. Apply ice if you hurt.

I have found that the more I warm up SLOWLY, the less I rely on ibuprofen.

Build up your wrist and forearm muscles

– Last Updated: Aug-10-05 9:29 PM EST –

At least that has worked for me. I've done a very steady, increasing regimen of forward and backward wrist curls and just holding small barbells from a my downward dangling hands and moving them back and forth. It's taken a while -- months -- but my tendonitis is now totally gone. Before, it was getting very regular and close to disabling for paddling. Bonus: my wife likes my newly buff forearms ;-))

If you do this, consult a trainer, and don't overdo it. There are small ligaments and bones in the wrists that you can injure if you push too hard too fast.