Tent Pegs for sand

I am very new to camping. Meaning I haven’t been yet. Having a great time picking choosing and slowing getting the gear together.

What are the best tent pegs for sand? The ones I saw advertised are aluminum with holes in the peg, pig tail types and I’ve seen bags for sand. I’ve also read the article on “deadman” for sand. I’m very aware that any peg with enough wind will pull out. I haven’t seen this topic under search archive before. Thanks.

Steve

Wilmington, NC

Depends on packing space and cost

– Last Updated: Feb-29-04 6:47 PM EST –

The best stake I've used in sand are wooden ones. If it's practical and environmentally sound where you are going you can cut your own. Last summer was the first time that I brought some cheap store-bought garden stakes on a river-sandbar camping trip. These stakes are roughly 1 by 2 inches in diameter and 22 inches long, which it turns out is a lot bigger than what's needed. I found that it was absolutely impossible to pull them out the next morning until I had dug all around them to a depth of nearly a foot! If you have the storage space, there is nothing cheaper than wooden stakes (I got a bag of 25 for the price of ONE aluminum tent stake specially made for sand) and nothing works better.

If packing space is a problem and you don't mind spending the money, those special "sand stakes" work pretty well.

As for burying a "deadman", that's a lot more work than it appears to be, but that works well too. You will need a good shovel and probably a saw or something to cut chunks of tree branches to bury. I hadn't heard about burying bags of sand, but that sounds like it would work well. Again, you'll need to bring a decent shovel, which might be just as bulky as some good tent stakes. Lots of options, I guess.

i just use rocks
wrapped around the guy line. Sand anchors could be dead useful though in a rock deficient area.

Campmor has sand stakes.
The have large trianguler surfaces .