Texas beginner looking for warmer locations

I’m a beginner who lives in the Dallas area. I’ve taken a beginner paddling course back in June and haven’t been out since. I just received a new kayak and would like to be able to try it out before next April/May but being such a newbie and not yet owning proper winter gear, I don’t think attending the local winter paddling groups is a good idea. So my question is, are there any locations, preferably protected still waters, in south Texas that still have water temps high enough that I’d be safe with minimal weather gear? I’d rather not spend a lot of money on a lot of clothing type gear until I’ve got more experience and know better what I want and need.

A secondary question is - are there resources where you can find out average water temps for any given time?

Honestly in texas you can paddle on the coast or rivers in a $100 wetsuit. Talk to local outfitters and clubs and get out on the water.

I saw where it will be 81F in Galveston today while you are shivering in Dallas. FL is good to go and has some great variety and locations to paddle. Yes try a search of NOAA info, or Google the water temp for where you wish to paddle.

Bird Island Basin on the Padre Island National Seashore in Corpus is a great place. Shallow water on laguna side is protected and warms quickly with just a couple of warmer days. PM me for more info on Corpus.

Mark

@terrib972 said:
A secondary question is - are there resources where you can find out average water temps for any given time?

Here is a list of coastal water temperatures for the western gulf coast: https://www.nodc.noaa.gov/dsdt/cwtg/wgof.html

Other US coastal and great lake locations are available on that site using menu on left.