the double bladed paddle

I’ve never used a double bladed paddle with a canoe before. Does anyone have any input regarding an ideal size canoe for using a double bladed paddle? - length, beam width etc.

thanks

I’m not an expert but
I would think that any solo boat should be fine with the double blade paddle. I have used one in a wenonah soloplus, my sawyer, and in the new native watercraft and they paddle great with a double. You might have a problem with some of the larger beamed boats however…

at the least a 240 CM. The rest…
…is optional.

I’ve used an 8’ double blade with a
15 foot whitewater boat, highly rockered. I think the focus should be on getting a QUALITY double blade. rroberts is right (for a change) that 240 cm is likely to be a minimum, and for paddling a full sized tandem, a longer paddle may be needed.

I use a 260cm
in my Mad River Freedom Solo. Seems a good length.

I tried a 260 cm once, in a MR Adventure 16 and even with the wider boat it felt long. But NT uses a 230 cm in his Magic and swears by it.

Go figure.

Jim

1 Like

Oh, yeah. …
…grumpy old fart.

I use my 240 on the lake with my touring kayak on

calm days.

It’s great.

You can’t use the the “f” word on peenet

length of paddle depends on boat
A Merlin II paddled kneeling does fine with a 240… A 230 works too but some drips in the boat. Dont remember the beam width.

A Lost Pond paddled sitting requires longer.

Alot depends on your stroke angle and height as well as boat beam at the gunwale.

Aside from getting a thousand different opinions, get in your boat, steal an adjustable curtain rod from your wife and find the length where when you paddle the rod just meets the water on both sides. Then add paddle blade length.

where did you get a 260?