The effect of Blade Size

Hi Folks,

I am relatively new to kayaking and am currently looking in to purchasing a new paddle.

Because of some excellent local offers my choice is now down to a Werner Shuna or a Werner Corryvrecken.

If I have understood correctly the main difference between the two lies in the size of the blade.

Shuna = 610 cm2.

Corry = 710 cm2.

I am a relatively solidly built guy, 1.76m, 93Kgs ( 204Lbs). My main interest is flat water touring. My kayak is a Zegul 550 ( 5.5m long, 54cm wide-21.5").

I currently use a Select First ( French made paddle, 690cm blade) which is basically a beginners/intermediate paddle and probably does not require the same strength to pull through the water as the Werners might, because of the softer blade.

Considering my size and strength would the Corryvrecken or any similar sized blade be too much, too tiring for the rando ?

I understand that blade size defintely has an impact but I do not have access to either of these paddles and I will not be able to test them beforehand.

Can anyone, who does day or multi day trips in a similar sized boat, provide me with a little insight as to weher or not I should go for the larger or the smaller sized blade.

I have a feeling that I would regret buying a smaller blade because I would not have the power when I wanted it and I imagine that with the larger blade I can vary the stroke in order to reduce power/fatique. ( I could be wrong on all points though).

Regardless of what the fitting guide says on the Werner site I will be going for a 215cm length paddle. I am confortable with this length.

Quick question : Do the Werner shafts have an “Oval” form, from their website it is not easy to tell ?

Thanks Roy

paddle
Never tried the Coryvecken, but I do own the Shuna. It is my go to paddle-use it all the time. For me-- 6’1" and 165 lbs.–the Cory would be too much blade me thinks.