The Need for Speed

I’ve been kayaking for almost two decades. I recently moved into rec boats and have gradually worked my way up to the two boats I currently own, a Perception Carolina 12 and a Perception Conduit 13. I can’t say enough good things about these boats. Compared to my old whitewater boats they are fast and easy to paddle.

Now about me, I’m 5’8,” 200lbs and do most my paddling on the Chattahoochee (slow flat water sections). If I can’t find someone to go with me, I put in a Morgan falls in the metro Atlanta area and paddle towards Azalea Drive and back down again and do the same on other stretches of flat water. Right now, I paddle primarily for relaxation and exercise but at some point in the future, I’d like to move into distance paddling on bigger water and possibly racing.

The more I paddle these boats, the more I realize I enjoy pushing myself and going faster. I frequently GPS my speed (I know this is moderately accurate at best) and have achieved above 6 mph in each boat. My reasonably comfortable cruising speed in either boat is between 3.5 and 4.5 depending on various conditions.

I went with the Carolina 12 because it is very easy to transport and people say great things about it. I didn’t consider the lower weight capacity (275 lbs) as I’m not using it for long trips. The boat is great and I believe the highest rated boat on this forum. I went with the Conduit 13 for similar reasons and because I knew it was a value. Boy was I right about the Conduit 13, for the price, you simply won’t find a better boat (I resolve the known back rest issues by adjusting the seat to the highest point and using bulky skirt, it’s great, the weight capacity is 295 lbs).