The right solo canoe for me ??

-- Last Updated: Feb-12-05 8:57 PM EST --

Hello folks. I am about 160 lbs. , 5ft 8 in. tall, and I am
re/searching for a solo canoe that I can handle. I have limited experience in an actual solo canoe. However I consider my self an experienced paddler of some 25-30 yrs. I can fairly confidently handle tandem canoes solo, loaded or empty, on flatwater or white water and my intended use would be for both. Lightness is necessary as my aging back and body are not into carrying much. I would use this solo for daytripping as well as well as extended wilderness voyageuring.
Any and all comments and critiques based in actual experience are welcome.

Thank You All
Sincerely George T

Thank You for Your prompt replies. And yes I will check them all out. That is on the internet.
About the only canoe I can check out up here is the Swift canoes. They come to the trade shows in Toronto regularly.

This is a great website. Much appreciated by me. There is no substitute for actual experience. And there seem to be a lot of folks with it on this site.!!

George T

14 ft. Clipper Prospector
When you say …

“I would use this solo for daytripping as well as well as extended wilderness voyageuring.”

… I think of the 14 ft. Clipper Prospector (made by Western Canoeing in British Columbia) with a Northwater spray cover.

Why … well, it’s short and deep … so it can be used loaded for extreme trips (has 1.5" rocker and a decent shallow arch) and for daytripping. If it’s windy when wanting to just day trip, throw in 40 lbs of ballast (a waterbag both fore and aft, but not too near the ends) and use the spray cover to mitigate the windage of it’s high profile. You’ll be able to control a shorter length (14’) canoe better given your size.

Also, you said you wanted it to be light, so any of their kevlar lay-ups would work … the toughest being their expedition duraflex. Even if you load it up with options, it will probably come in at less than 50 lbs.