The World is our Oyster

Hi. I’m starting to plan a canoe trip next year for 5-6 nights organised and/or wilderness camping for 4 of us. I used to be a canoe instructor, but other 3 are relatively inexperienced, though big outdoor people and physically fit. So would be nice for Grade I -II water. We are spread over the world from Scotland, New Zealand to Portland, so happy to meet anywhere in the world but would need to be able to hire canoes and canoeing kit (paddles, barrels etc). Any suggestions of rivers or regions we can explore greatly received

There are so many places you could go.

Two amazing Canadian Shield options would be Algonquin Provincial Park in Ontario (I’m sure there are outfitters nearby) and the Churchill River system and general area in mid-northern Saskatchewan (Churchill River Outfitters can give you advice on an appropriate itinerary, rent you gear, and provide drop-off/pick-up as needed).

The Boundary Waters in MN and the lake country of Ontario have the best outfitters to rent whatever you need. Portage routes are well established. It is somewhat rigorous but whitewater can be avoided.

Temagami is another option Get Hap Wilson’s guide: Temagami - A Wilderness Paradise - Welcome to hapwilson.com - Hap Wilson

For an idea of options check this: https://mhoadventures.com/adventure/

Thank you so much. Great info, so will give me something to research. I’ve never paddled in North America, so would be an experience for sure. Any other suggestions more than welcome too.

Piragis is a BWCA outfitter I have enjoyed working with.

1 Like

North America, as I’m sure you are aware, includes everything from the Arctic to the tropics and great wilderness areas are plentiful.
Now is a good time to see Alaska; the Florida Everglades, not so much.