Thick/Heavy water

A theory; and a question for all you pros. This would mainly affect quiet water paddlers but, there may be a moving water paddler that can give me a correct [non epoxy] answer.

It seams to me, that as the summer has progressed, the water has seemingly become thicker/heavier.

I think this is a result of the oxygen becoming depleted. Less air = thicker /heavier water.

I notice it each time I paddle down the bayou. There has been little rain lately and really, no movement of the water to speak of.

Is my theory a valid one ?. Will the water get thicker/heavier with less oxygen ?

Inquiring and shallow minds want to know.

Troll ? …
I’m a medicinal chemist not a physical chemist but I will take a guess. Oxygen concentrations in water are measured in the parts per million. Something like 10 mg oxygen per 1000 mL water. When a gas is dissolved in a liquid there is almost no measurable change in density, because the gass fills up space in the fluid molecules. Water and oxygen is a little more complicated because water hydrogen bonds to oxygen, but still there is little change in net volume. As water gets warmer it holds less oxygen.

Density in algae slime concentrations could be a different matter.

To Sea Dart
Sorry to go off topic, but Sea Dart, do you actually own one? I saw the review for a 16 in an old kayak magazine saying it was a great yak, but since it didn’t sell well, they did away w/it.

-Capri

w
Not trying to be a troll.

Just asking the question.

As stated, it seams to me that the water is actually thicker/heavier than it was earlier in the year. and I was courious.

It is in fact quite noticeable when I paddle the bayou.

Yes …