Things to do, places to see? Ontario to Nova Scotia

I’ll be headed to the Bay of Fundy Sea Kayaking Symposium with my wife in September. We’ll be taking some extra time on either end to leisurely drive there and back and enjoy what the trip has to offer. Since this is my first time taking the trip east, I have no idea what there is to see and do along the way so I’d appreciate suggestions. Whether you’ve been there, or just always wanted to visit somewhere, it’s all fair game here. My focus would be on things related to nature, science, geology, technology, and of course kayaking, but anything “unique” and “different” is always satisfying.

Our default plan is to take the Trans-Canada Highway which will bring us through Toronto, Kingston, Montreal and Quebec City. After that, I’d prefer to stay in Canada and continue along the Trans-Canada up toward Riviere-du-Loup before traveling back down along the border through Fredericton and on to Saint John. Here we’d take the ferry across the Bay of Fundy and continue driving down to near Yarmouth. There’s time to take a few days here and there for side trips, but the goal is to arrive a day early to relax and unwind the kinks from driving.

I’ve already noticed that the route takes us very near to the Saguenay - St-Lawrence Marine Park (Tadoussac), where there are whale watching opportunities for paddlers. This freaks me out a bit, but I can get over that for the experience. We’d be on the “wrong” side of the river without taking a long detour, but there’s a ferry just downstream at Trois-Pistoles that runs across the St. Lawrence. There’s also a chance we might take the land route one way through Truro and Moncton in order to stop at the Fundy Geological Museum.

All the cities have something to offer. I am particularly fond of Quebec City. Mt Carleton in NB is not far off your path…