Thinking about Kayak Fishing?

Im pretty new to kayaks in general,Last summer my wife and I bought out first Kayaks. I got a Pungo 140,she got a Jackson Tupelo. I Really enjoy going out in it,it’s so peaceful!

So now im getting into fishing and plan on buying a power boat for family/fishing/fun,But I cant help but wonder how much fun would fishing from a kayak be? I see they have a Pungo 140 fishing version,but dont see a difference from what I got besides a rod holder?

I guess I could always try to fish from mine to see if I like it,but I would think something like a standard sit on top fishing kayak would be much more comfortable. I guess what im asking is,Would there be a night and day difference between a sit in vs sit on top for fishing?

Depends on the water and quarry

– Last Updated: Jan-28-16 4:02 PM EST –

If you are fishing in calm water, a canoe is a far better fishing craft than either a SOT or a SINK. I know people who fish from SINKs, but in general I think SOTs are better than SINKs for fishing. They usually have better primary stability, are easier to turn around in, easier to get back into if you turtle (which can happen when you're fighting a big fish), safer for going through surf, and more room to move around in, work with tackle, land a fish in, etc.

There are lots of kayaks that aren't explicitly fishing kayaks that can be used for fishing, and a lot of the fishing models are a regular model with rod holders, etc added to them. A lot of that you can do yourself to a "nonfishing" kayak you find works pretty well for the fishing you do.

Pungos are fine
Put a Scotty rod holder or two on it, and you’re good to go. Pick your locations carefully.

There is a difference between a Sit-In and a Sit-On-Top for fishing, but there is nothing in the world to stop you from fishing from a Sit-In. I do it all the time.

I like to use different sizes of single hooks and jigs and mostly soft plastics for kayak fishing. Figure out what works for you.