Thinking of buying a used Pungo 140 bgnr

-- Last Updated: Aug-09-13 2:49 PM EST --

Hi all!
So, I'm new to this. I've paddled about 3 times before on vacation, and recently rented some boats for the day and had a blast. btw, bgnr meants beginner, as in, I'm a beginner.

It has me ready to buy a couple Kayaks.

I found online a pungo 140. Pics look great, says its been used a few times. Thinks its about a 2008/9 model. With paddle, and is at $450.

One of my rentals was a pungo 140. I'm 6'3 245, and I LOVED that boat. It was awesome!

Is this a good deal?

I'm also pondering going with a couple new vapor 10s from Old town, and thought I might catch a year end sale for 300, or the xt for 350 but not sure if thats realistic.

Me and my wife want to stay on flat water, lake/river, etc.

thoughts?

Good deal

– Last Updated: Aug-09-13 3:00 PM EST –

The Pungo is a very popular rec kayak and great for what it was meant for, mellow rivers and lakes.

Good price if you just want to stick to the mellow stuff and at your size you will find that finding a kayak you fit in can be a challenge. Big guys always fit in a Pungo.

I would get the Pungo over the other ones you mention. If you get into kayaking you could outgrow it if you want to do more challenging water but I know plenty of people who are just happy to cruise the easy stuff and never do anything more.

It is a great boat

– Last Updated: Aug-09-13 3:11 PM EST –

I bought a Pungo 140 the first year they came out and still paddle it.

If it is one of the older Pungo 140s that does not have a front bulkhead I would recommend installing one or putting some float bags up front. They started putting front bulkheads in them around 2009 do it may have one, but that little chunk of foam they put in the bow of the older ones is not enough to keep the bow from sinking if the boat ever gets swamped.

Not bad at all