Thule help needed asap!

Okay, we bought a Thule car rack and hull-a-ports for our Toyota Camry. The instructions say not to have the straps go across the cockpit but with the load bars 28" apart (as directed) the straps are going to cross the cockpit on the sea kayaks as well as the rec boats.

Anyone else out there deal with this dilema? We are going to be hauling them tomorrow.

Straps
I have no experience with Hull-A-Ports but have used stackers with load bars 28 inches apart. Plastic kayaks/coamings should not be adversely affected by the straps. I have been able to slightly spread the straps around the coamings on single cockpit kayaks. On open cockpit tandems, the straps do cross the coamings. Composite boats/coamings could be cracked by overtightening the straps.

expand the crossbars?
Can you move the crossbars farther fore and aft on the roof line and maintain a secure rack to roof bond? And without hurting the car? I had similar dilemma. Got them far enough apart, but roof camber is opposite to hull’s which reduced the contact area of saddles to hull as they each curved away from the other. I shimmed the rack feet to yield a more level and still secure mounting. ALWAYS check and recheck (and check again) all knobs, straps and other rack widgets frequently.

More than 28"
might be possible but the instructions say:

“Important! When possible, maintain a distance of 28” between front and rear load bars."

and then later,

“Ensure straps do not go over cockpit cowling or other non-load bearing boat details before cinching straps.”

Thank you for your responses and any others that might come in. I’m about ready to chuck the whole works back in the box.

I think that means
at least 28", not exactly 28".

Considering the countour
of the car top, it is probably pretty much going to be 28" for them to fit flat and even.