Tie downs: front tow hooks for ford 2017 expedition

I have roof top carriers and it would be easier to secure the kayaks if I could find front tow hooks ( I have rear ) made for my 2017 expedition. Ford doesn’t show any for my VIN. Ford F-150 has an accessory part # but the people I’ve asked at different Ford parts venues don’t think that they will work. There are pre-drilled holes in the frame accessible from the plastic knock-outs located on each side of the front license plate bracket.
I have checked salvage yards within a 50 mile radius without success.

Any advice will be appreciated.

Lenny

Hood loops work way better; it has been 30 years since I used tow hooks. Here is one example
https://www.amazon.com/FishYuan-Quick-Loops-Anchor-Straps/dp/B07TWKXNT2

2 Likes

I agree with @kayamedic.

I’ve been using these for about 10 years. No issues whatsoever with any paint wear on the hood.

https://www.amazon.com/Thule-Hood-Loop-Strap-529/dp/B004MZXI0I/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=thule+hood+loops&qid=1616707669&s=sporting-goods&sr=1-1

1 Like

Another advocate for hood loops.

1 Like

Has anyone mentioned hood loops?

1 Like

Those must be threaded holes behind the plastic knock-outs, so you should be able to buy simple eyebolts to thread into those. Head for a hardware store and try some different sizes of bolts to see which one has the correct thread. Then, if they don’t have eyebolts in that thread, see if they can order some for you. I’m guessing it’s going to be an SAE (non-metric) thread size around 1/2-13 to 3/4-10 inch.

1 Like

Car-part.com is a great site for shopping many junkyards

1 Like

I don’t know your VIN, but when I googled, these show as fitting a 2017 Ford Expedition - Ford OE FL3Z17A954C. I also found none-OEM replacements.

They appear to be $40-65 each new though. Hood loops are certainly cheaper than that.

1 Like