tight spray skirt

I just bought a tsunami160 kayak from Wilderness Systems.It recommend a Seals 1.7 spray skirt,when i try to put it on it is a very tight fit{my husband has to put on for me}i cant get it on myself.Is this normal for a new spray skirt,will it get broke in and easier to get on or should i send back.I am new to kayaking so this is all a learning experience for us.thanks for your help.

Should not be that hard…
… assuming you are putting it on while wearing it and sitting in the boat (I’ve seen people trying to put them on from outside, dry and wonder why it’s so hard), hooking rear first and they pushing forward. A wet skirt is often easier too.

If you can’t do it yourself, it’s probably the wrong size/model for you.

but . . .
a lot of it is technique. I know the first time I tried to put a neoprene skirt sitting in the backyard, I broke a sweat and am sure was quite a sight for the neighbors. Now I can put the skirt on that same boat with no problem.

Hook the back, relax and lean forward gently as you pull forward with hands at 11 and 1. If necessary at first, have your husband hold the skirt about half way up the coaming while you pop it over the front. Also, get the skirt and cockpit coaming wet before your next try. Generally, if the skirt is what the manufacturer recommends, it should work.

but …
It may fit fine for an experienced paddler, if you are just starting out you might want a skirt you can get on and off without any hassles. Go to the store where you bought the kayak and see what the cheapest neoprene skirt that will easily fit your kayak. Use that skirt until you are comfortable getting in and out of your boat in a hurry, wet exiting ect.

You might also want to go to the gym and work on that upper body strength too. Also make sure you try putting the skirt on on dry land sitting in the boat and using your body for leverage.

tight spray deck