Tips for managing 2 dogs in our Pocket Canyon?

My paddling partner (185 lbs. in the stern) and I (110 lbs. in the bow) like to canoe camp with our two dogs (55 lbs. each, typically on either side of the yoke). Here in PA and nearby WV, that means relatively shallow rivers with frequent riffles and the occasional Class I-II rapids. He has a reasonable amount of experience flatwater canoeing, whereas I’m a relative novice with a marginal preference for kayaks.

On paper, the Esquif Pocket Canyon seemed perfect for us: it fits on top of our little Corolla with enough space for us, our gear and the dogs. My husband can also paddle it solo when I hop in our Intex Challenger K1 for a change of pace and eventually hopes to use it as a playboat on more substantial whitewater.

And indeed, it worked like a dream last summer with the first pup. Now that he’s full grown with a second canine companion, though, the low primary stability is an increasing source of frustration on “easy” day trips (including a humiliating flip last weekend). They are both incredibly well behaved, but rock the boat when they shift positions every 10 minutes or so and make tracking a nightmare anytime my partner sets his paddle down for even a millisecond.

My own vision problems and lack of technical skills with a single blade are unquestionably part of the problem - recommendations for area instructors very welcome! - so I’m toying with whether a double-bladed paddle might help compensate with additional horsepower up front. Thoughts?

However, I suspect we may also just be too bow light and should counterbalance the dogs by adding ballast up front (or bring one of them up with me) to avoid getting tossed. This is directly at odds with my husband’s preferred solution of installing float bags at both ends to facilitate recovery (reserving the center for both dogs and gear). Or maybe we’re a rare case where the much-maligned stabilizer floats might split the difference?

Help!