tips for paddling tidal rivers?

Hi. My husband and I have been kayaking on lakes for several years and want to start paddling some of the tidal rivers in Connecticut. (Specifically the Farm River in East Haven to start.) I would appreciate some tips for paddling tidal rivers. Things like the best way to time your outings as far as the tides are concerned and what to look out for. We would like to paddle upriver and then return to our original starting point, so I’m thinking we should start out as the tide is coming in? So the tide can help us go against the current? To make matters more complex, we have had significant amounts of rain here, so I suspect the river’s current is probably faster than normal… Any help would be appreciated! Thanks. – Jill

Find some local friends
Best thing to do is to go on a few trips with experienced paddlers who know the way tide affects where you will be paddling. Extreme shifts in tides can create some very impressive features in the the water in unexpected places. General guide lines may not apply. Of course the place where you want to paddle might be quite tame, but do it the first time with experienced paddlers, a club or an outfitter. You’ll want to have some instruction in moving water at any rate.

tidal paddling
online tide prediction sites are abundant… find a tide station near where you will be & use that as a guide. If there are several, you can usually make reasonable interpolation between them, improving as you learn the area.

Look at Connyak.org

– Last Updated: Jun-25-11 12:11 PM EST –

You may find some info there, or be able to post a question with the local experts at Connyak.org

I'm not familiar with CT geography, but you should be able to find NOAA tide predictions close to where you want to go here:
http://tidesandcurrents.noaa.gov/tides11/tab2ec2a.html#18

Just do it
Probably the trouble you will have depends more on what Lake Saltonstall is discharging.