Tips on converting a rectangle

into a circle or oval, in wood that is. As in paddle shaft. I have done 3 and can get close but I’m a long way from dowel perfect.

My guess
is that the pro’s use a jig or template to make the shape perfect and consistent from one paddle to the next. I’m not a pro – just a guesser.

jim

rounding corners
To make a nice round oval or circle cross-section with simple hand-tools, the best approach is to cut a chamfer (that’s a 45 degree bevel) on all four corners down to the diameter you want. If you sketched the shape you want to finish with on the end of the board, you’d be shaving off the corner to create a tangent to that circle/oval. I usually do this with a very sharp chisel (paying close attention to grain direction), but you could also do it with a spokeshave or a handplane. You’ll have an octagon now. Next shave off all 8 of those corners again, until the new faces are tangential to the finished shape. Then shave off those 16 corners you’ve created. By this point you’ve pretty much got your circle or oval, and you can just smooth things out to your liking.

paddle shaft shaping

– Last Updated: Apr-29-10 10:53 PM EST –