TN access question

I am new to TN and like to paddle creeks. I was wondering if anyone can shed some light on using bridges as access points. I tried to look up right of way/state ownership laws but could not find the info I was looking for. Basically can you launch a canoe at any state owned bridge in TN?

A little zone of public land surrounds a
bridge, and we use that. However, sometimes grouchy landowners prevail on the local sheriff to harass paddlers by ticketing or towing cars left along the road.

I recommend that you just do it. Problems are caused by folks that litter (paddlers, fishermen), folks that change in full view of passing cars, folks that interfere with passing traffic by parking stupidly or standing in the road, and folks that encroach on private land near the bridge.

I do the same
The banks underneath a bridge on a public road, and at least a few feet to either side are not privately owned.

You can also get quite a bit of information on recommended access points for various streams online. Try the Tennessee river information page on the American Whitewater website: http://americanwhitewater.org/content/River/state-summary/state/TN/

or the Walden Ridge Whitewater site: http://www.waldensridgewhitewater.com/

If you are new to creeking in TN you might want to consider joining one of the local clubs in east TN for a year to connect with some other paddlers who are familiar with the local runs. A lot of runs in TN come up relatively infrequently, so someone who is gainfully employed might not have an opportunity to run a given stream for years. Most of the clubs have members who have been around long enough to have familiarity with even the most seasonal runs.

Club options are Tennessee Scenic Rivers Association (TSRA) around Nashville, Chota around Knoxville, Tennessee Valley Canoe Club (TVCC) around Chattanooga, and the APEs (Appalachian Paddling Enthusiasts) around the Johnson City area.

g2d is right