Too Advanced a Boat?: Necky Looksha II

I have been paddling for a few years, but nothing above class II on rivers and calm bays in saltwater. The most advanced boat I have is a Hurricane Tracer 165, which I’m learning to roll, but which still takes me a little while to feel comfortable in if I haven’t paddled it in a while. I’m 6’1", 210 pounds and the Tracer could stand to be a little less tight in the cockpit. Anyway, like an idiot, I bought a beautiful Necky Looksha II without paddling it because it was such a good deal. I have yet to pick it up, but now I’m having buyer’s remorse at buying at boat that I’ve read described as tippy and advanced, although it’s supposed to be very fast and with decent volume. Will I be able to use this boat, learn in it, and advance, or will I just shoehorn myself into this Ferrari and suffer continuous dunkings?

I’m concerned. Anybody want a great deal on a Looksha II?

Relax, enjoy.
You may very well find your first experience getting in and out might be jittery. By the third time you take it out you will wonder what all the fuss was about.

I did the same not long ago purchasing a 21 wide at the water line, Fathom, without trying first. My first trip I was quite taken back. I feared I had made an expensive mistake. Now it feels like old favorite sneakers. It took about 3 trips to master a method for getting in and out. I did suffer a bit in some strong clapotis a couple of weeks ago because I was tensing up. I am sure subjecting myself to those conditions more often, I will develop the relaxed attitude to remain comfortable. Haven’t tipped it over ever. I sure am glad I did NOT try it first because I am certain I would have looked at other models and probably purchased something cheaper with more initial stability. And been kicking myself for years for not getting what my heart desired as I would again quickly outgrow my “stabil” boat again. Don’t think of it as tippy, think of it as high performance. It is a mental thing.