Too Low in the Yak

I have a Perception Sol`e, 14’ kayak that I purchased used. I am a TOTAL novice, only having experience in canoes and one rental kayak this past summer.

After watching several kayaking “instructional videos” and going on a couple of paddles, I have (finally) realized that I am sitting too low in the boat. I am 5’6" around 170 ish. Not much torso. This makes it very difficult to use a paddle on the rear coaming to assist in getting in and out. (Not to mention other physical ailments)

The seat cushion on this boat is glued to the sole of the boat. Is there a replacement seat that will sit me up at least a couple inches higher? I suppose I should try some various thickness pads or cushions before I settle on any on height.

I am not a white water guy, just recreational and light touring. Maybe a bit in the ocean and inlets near me.

Any and all suggestions are welcome!

Thanks

Steve

You sit low in a kayak, that’s the point
The sole does not have a high cockpit, and if you have a factory seat, it is probably at a good seat height to provide stability and control of the boat. If you raise the seat height a few inches the boat will become very tippy and hard to paddle, as a beginner you would find yourself upside down a lot of the time.

Practice getting in and out of the boat on dry ground, then take a lesson on paddling from a qualified instructor. After you know what you are doing you can replace the seat with minifoam and carve a seat to fit how you like, but I suspect you need to learn the basics first. You may also need to work on developing new muscles to get in and out of the boat, if you have back or flexibility problems folks here can help you out if you explain what the problem is .

Lifting the butt cheeks
Proper paddling involves physically lifting

one cheek, then the other, over-and-over again

as you rotate the torso using technique.

http://youtu.be/lef_ut8n0ms

It truly is a whole body exercise :slight_smile: