Torn between 2

Good morning :sunny:
I am fairly new at kayaking. Did a lot of exploring and learned a lot. I narrowed down my search to two kayaks by eddyline. Sandpiper 12.6 vs Skylark 12

Looking for a good, safe beginners , and to grow with in the future. I am set on eddyline.

Read many reviews and they both are very much favored. I have searched out one verses the other, but did not come up with comparable to one another

I am looking to paddle in the bay. Conditions are always different, from glass, to a little choppy to rough depending on the weather and wind.

I will not go out in very choppy conditions until I have a lot more experience. I will also paddle in near by lakes and rivers for change of scenery and experiences.

I love both these models and keep going back and forth. I am 5’ and small framed.

Any input would be very helpful. Thank you in advance. Safe traveling. :rowing_man:‍♂:rowing_man:‍♂

I would definitely go with the narrower one, at your size. Even better would be the Sitka ST but it’s more expensive. If there’s any chance to paddle the boats that would be by far the best way to pick. I would suggest not to paddle a bay unless it’s calm with warm water and you stay close to shore.

Welcome to paddling! Concur with Doggy, consider the Sitka. It is a kayak more suited for the paddling situation(s) you mention including growth for future paddling.

Also, before spending big bucks on a new kayak, have you considered taking a lesson? Paddling in a bay in choppy or rough conditions can put you into situations that an ACA or BCU lesson should introduce you to before you get surprised at sea (which is not the time to have to learn about survival). An added benefit is you get to see and practice with essential equipment for safe paddling away from a shoreline.