Total Clueless Newby

Hi all, as the title states, I am a totally clueless newb looking for some advice. First a bit of background.

I have been riding mountain bikes for about 8 years, and really enjoy getting exercise out in nature. I have been considering getting a kayak to add another dimension to my outdoor recreation. What I would like to find would meet these criteria:

1. It should paddle well in calm waters. I live in ND, and we don’t have alot of fast moving streams and rivers with rapids to shoot here.

2. I would like it to be capable of growing with me as I do progress in the sport. I would like to have the ability to hit class 3 rapids with the same kayak.

3. I don’t want it to be more than $1,000 for the boat, and associated gear. (Outside of a padle, what else do I need?)

Like I said, I am a totally clueless noob. So feel free to give me the very most basic primer on the sport.

boat: dagger aproach
http://www.dagger.com/product.asp?BoatType=WWKayak&BoatID=327

~750$ or so…

what else do you need???

what kind of weather???where you going???

You NEED:

-Personal Flotation Device (Pfd)

-paddle

-skirt -neoprene if you are going on a class 3 river…

other things:

spray jackets

dry bags to keep your stuff dry (keys etc)

water bottle

there is a list that could be written with about a 100 items…

Hmmmm…

– Last Updated: May-04-07 5:19 PM EST –

The do-everything boat is a myth. Speed on flat water requires something long and narrow. Modern whitewater playboats are short and wide and *really* slow on flat water. If you just want to run through rapids instead of playing in them a longer boat works, but everything is a compromise.

To hit your budget you should consider used boats.

How tall/heavy are you?

For a do-everything boat, you might want to look at a LiquidLogic Pisgah. It's a touring boat designed by folks who got started building whitewater boats.
http://liquidlogicpisgah.blogspot.com/