Total newbie gear ??

I’m new to all this. I’ve wanted to get a kayak for years and am finally pulling the trigger. I’ll be on lakes and reservoirs . . . 10,000 to 25,000 acre lakes mostly . . . for exercise, solitude, and getting outdoors.

What boat? My “list” right now is Kestrel 140, Manitou 140, Tsunami 125 or 145, and the CD Vision 135. All poly. All in the neighborhood of $1,000. I can’t find much info on the Vision 135 but it looks especially interesting to me.

I’ll be trying them out eventually . . . but any thoughts on what I might cross off this list . . . or add to it?

Thanks.

Add some details.
Age, height, weight, what shape you’re in for carrying. Fitness paddling is a good description of your planned usage. People here will help you better with more info on which to go.

YoS

I’d probably drop the
shorter Tsunami unless you’re going to be in small twisty areas a lot. The Manitou 14 is a very nice boat – good mix of comfort and performance, and the Kestrel may be most fun (and most temperamental of the bunch).

Consider buying used if you can find any of them near you. Spend the difference on a good paddle and PFD as you’ll likely keep those through multiple boats.

jim

Tsunami 140

– Last Updated: Mar-03-09 4:40 PM EST –

if you fit in a Manitou 14 you will likely find the Tsunami 145 cavernous.

I eyeballed a Manitou 14 this past weekend after selling a Manitou 13, but ended up with a Tsunami 135 instead.

I’m 60 and generally good health . . . 6’ and 210 . . .

you won’t be a newbie for too long
And, if you can be patient (I wasn’t much) you might find

a used boat

a demo boat

a previous years model

I got a last year’s Tsunami 140 for 750.00. I was actually looking at a used sea kayak in the same price range, but it was a 17’ and wouldn’t have worked as well for local rivers.