Total Newbie

I am a complete novice!! My husband just bought me a Pelican 11DX kayak for my b’day. I am 5’3" and about 150 lbs.(gasp!) I am working really hard to lose weight and want to incorporate kayaking into an exercise regime. I am close to Mobile Bay and several slow rivers. A family member has a large swimming pool that never gets used so I am going to practice basic things like staying in the darn thing to begin with. At least my husband will be close by to keep me from drowning. Any suggestions on must haves, or definite don’ts?

Learning is a lot of fun!
Congratulations on the new boat!

Franklin

Keep the front pointed downstream…
…and the big hole up.

Pretty much all else follows those two basic rules.

If you are in the deep south, don’t shoot at

snakes that are in the boat with you.

You must have
A PFD. And it doesn’t do you any good if you aren’t wearing it! Like strapping it under your deck bungees, or tossing it in a hatch. And a good 8 hour lesson will go a long ways towards enjoying your kayak.

And lots of paddling!!! Enjoy!

snakes!
had to laugh at that one. I have actually seen that happen to fishermen in this area. You can’t get much deeper South than here.

Years ago I…
…came up with the unwritten ruls of paddling in

the deep south.

1. Logs do not swim upstream.
  2. If you see a log swimming upstream, it ain’t

a log.
  3. Never shoot at a snake in your boat.
  4. never swim with a pissed off snake
  5. Never gig a frog whose eyes are 6" apart
  6. Frogs do not have eyes 6" apart.

Canoed and camped all over swamps in Al, Ms, and

La. I used to load the canoe up with camping

equipment, find some swamp, and camp for the

weekend.

Lived in Coast of NC; Huntsville, Al; Vicksburg, Ms; and Picayune, Ms.

YOu?

Learn how to get back in/on