Tough decision, San Juan Isles or Coas

I’m relatively new to kayaking but want to make a great late summer trip (late Aug/early Sep). Want to do an overnight in either San Juan Isles or Coastal Maine but dont know anything about either. Any thoughts, input, direction or tips much appreciated. THANK YOU

San Juan
Wilder

San Juans
I’ve driven boat and kayaked SJ and loved it. Winds and tides are big factors so I’d suggest a guided trip, plus they know where the whales are. Body Boat and Blade are good people and they offer a trip around Orcas timed so it’s downhill all the way.

Enjoy

Randy

You’ll be renting?
Your profile says you are looking to purchase a touring boat, leading me to think you’ll be on a guided tour in a rented boat. Is that right? If so, you may want to ask about specific outfitters.

san juans
the islands are nice and relatively calm that time of year. Weather is very dry so water can be an issue. If you are new to kayaking I strongly suggest a guided trip as the currents and route planning mistakes can get you into trouble fairly quickly there. If you are interested in learning some kayak skills, check out Body Boat Blade or Kayak Academy. A good friend teaches and runs Rogue Wave Adventures but he doesn’t rent gear so you would need your own.

Second
Body Boat Blade is fantastic, and I second the San Juan recommendation. I’ve been to both, and both were fantastic. I preferred the rugged scenery and variety of marine life found in the San Juans to the old weathered fog-covered shores of Maine. Maine has better chowder, though, and lobster too. MMmmmm. Maine.

Outfitter
Yes, we will be renting. And yes, if anyone knows of or has a recommendation for outfitter/guide, that would be much appreciated.

Body Boat & Blade