Touring Kayak - Eddyline or Swift?

I am relatively new to kayaking and in the process of shopping for a boat. I have determined that I want a light touring kayak about 14 feet (storage constraints), less than 50 lbs (lighter the better) and one well suited to a person who is about 5’5" and around 130 pounds.

I am currently looking at the Swift - Saranac 14 and the Eddyline Merlin LT. I can’t, however, find anyone who is familiar with both and can tell me how they differ with respect to quality. One difference I know of is that the Swift often comes with a skeg and the Eddyline does not. Does it matter? Are there other differences that will have a material impact to tracking or simply overall use? Any and all feedback you can provide will be appreciated.

Also - if you know of a boat that is better suited to my needs, all suggestions will be welcomed.

Sorry,
but I am only familiar with the Eddyline Merlin LT. My sister has one and loves it. I have a Eddyline Nighhawk 16 which has the skeg and though my sister doesn’t mind not having a skeg, I think I would. I don’t use my skeg very often, but once in awhile it really helps.

I’m about your size (5’4", 125 lbs) and I really like my Impex Mystic. It is 14 ft. and around 43 lbs. in glass or around 38 in carbon/kevlar. I think it is worth finding one to demo. I posted a review on it recently here on P-Net.

Or, if you’re inclined to build a kayak, the Pygmy Arctic Tern 14 would be another wonderful choice. Mine weighs in at 37 lbs. and handles like a dream (without a skeg).

Good luck and happy paddling.

Merlin LT
I liked the Merlin LT, and might have purchased one except that the boat was not a snug enough fit such that my legs could easily lay against the hull so I could control the boat with my hips. If you will be paddling in very calm conditions this may not be an issue for you. Otherwise, give it a try and see how it fits you. I chose the Night Hawk because it’s narrower and fit me better.