touring kayaks for bigger guys

I’m a beginner paddler but after 20 hrs of on water instruction and alot of reading, I feel ready to purchase my first kayak. I’m looking for a sea kayak with a skeg that has good initial stability, will fit my 6’2" 245# body, and is a boat I can grow into. I realize I will need to spend some time trying them out, but if I could have some initial, non-biased suggestions, it would really be helpful. The Impex Assateague is at the top of my list. For comparison I did most of my instruction in a Necky Eskia and liked the fit, but don’t want a rudder.

Also, I’ve read the archives regarding roof racks. My take on this is that the type of rack (stacker vs flat) is somewhat dependent on the boat. Furthermore, if the yak is carried flat, it may be transported upright or up side down depending upon where it is strongest (a manufacturer reccomendation). Am I reading this right?

Thanks for any suggestions or insight you may have.

Check out the Eddyline
Nighthawk 17.5. Plenty of room for a big person and tracks nicely. Adequate speed, moderate initial stability and very good secondary stability.

check out
Wilderness Systems Tempest 180 Pro. I have one and love it. I’m 6’1" 210#. Very easy to get in and out of.I had a 170 Pro ,but I had trouble getting in and out(I’m not very flexible).

Thanks guys
Thanks much for the great suggestions! I have been pouring over online information on both boats and will put them on my try list. One question however. I plan to take a rolling class this winter and hope to add that to my skill list. Any experience or thoughts on how these boats roll?

Thanks again

QCC500?

also…

– Last Updated: Sep-11-05 2:51 PM EST –

At 6' 2" at least 245, I have a Wilderness Systems Pungo 140. Very easy to get in and out of, with very good leg room.

Not a touring yak (I guess) but thought I'd mention.

USS Kitty Hawk

right on