Touring kayaks

Hi! I am also new to kayaking and I have joined a local club. I would like to purchase a used touring boat that would be fast enough to keep up with the group.Would anyone like to give me their input on what kayak you have had the best satisfaction with for touring?I would enjoy hearing your opinions! Thanks!

Try different boats, each person is
different. A boat that is fast for me might be fast for you also but not comfortable to you. So when you paddle with them see if you can try some of theirs.

reply to Bmach1
Thanks! Yes, thats what I am doing as I dont want to jump into buying just anything! It has to feel right!

You might get a lot of opinions.
One thing you need to let people know is your height and weight, and the price range you want to shop in. If you weigh 120 lbs and are 5’6 you’ll want a different boat than if you weigh 220 lbs. But the best way to get started is to ask you local paddle shop about used boats that would fit what you want to do. Don’t spend a lot of money for your first boat , you will learn as you start paddling, and trying other peoples boats, and learn what boat you would like. Also in some places you can rent boats and it’s a good way to try out a boat for an extended period before you buy.

Perspectives
Speed relative to paddling is a widely misunderstood concept. Among touring boats the differences between “fast” and “slow” often boils down to minor differences in efficiency at various speeds of maybe 10% or less.

I’m guilt of having pursued similar logic and having wasted money looking for that fast touring boat early in my paddling. The turning point for me was a comment from Nick Schade of Guillemot Kayaks, something along the effect of "it’s not the boat that matters but the engine that ultimately determines “fast vs slow”.