Toyota matrix s rack options

Hey folks first time post here! My name is Josh and this summer myself and my wife are going to start kayaking St Andrews bay in panama city fl. Our plans are to both have mirage drive hobies but the first year budget puts my wife in her mirage drive and I’ll be in a cheaper 12 ft pelican. Hope to be able to find a sail for the pelican though.

I’m having trouble determining what I need for a roof rack on my 2009 toyota matrix s. My rain gutter has 4 mounting spots that look like they were made for a set of cross bars but I’m having a hard time finding something for that area. I’ve seen the detachable Thule and yakima towers that attach around the door but I just don’t know what would be best. I really like the idea of a bolt on permanent cross bar at the 4 rain gutter bolt points. Can some help point a complete novice to what I need? I’m looking for the balance between cost and quality that hopefully comes in under 300 bucks but I understand if that’s not doable. Once I got my cross bars I imagine I’ll be using j cradles to get two boats on the small car.

Thanks for any info and I look forward to joining this community.

start with Rack Attack.com
once you have a list of components you can shop for them used on Ebay or CL to save. I just skimmed Ebay and there are used Thule components for your vehicle.

Thanks.
I looked at rack attack but there are so many options that I’m still overwhelmed with what I actually need. Everything there looks like the quick on and off towers also. I’m not against that but was first looking for something a bit more permanent. I’m new to this and may be chasing something that doesn’t exist.

Check out Thule, too
http://www.thule.com/en-us/us/products/carriers-and-racks/roof-racks

Just had a Thule setup installed on my bare roof 2016 Honda Fit.

Was driving a 2003 Toyota Matrix - loved that car and so sorry they discontinued it.

What about this