Tracking straight

Hello, I’m new to paddling and I have gotten a old perception traditional kayak from a friend it is approx. 9’-10’ long and has a beam of approx. 26"-28" and when I take it out I’m fine on river water but whenever I try to paddle stong to get the boat moving I have trouble with the boat basically spinning out and I mean spinning mean in a complete 180 to where I’m facing the direction I was coming from, any suggestion is it my paddling technique or is the boat bent? it looks straight but I have no idea.

Thanks for the help.

Mike

Stroke Primarily… Maybe Current Too…
either way, you rectify by learning and improving your stroke. A common sight with novices in short boats is that their paddles are often too long and their forward stroke are too far out and carried too far back (behind the hips) creating turning/spinning momentum.

sing

Are you near Columbus?
If so, you might want to check out Columbus Outdoor Pursuit’s paddling group. They offer some basic classes. Nice people.

http://www.outdoor-pursuits.org/activities/boating/index.htm

Also, the way you describe the boat doing a 180 makes me think you have a whitewater boat, not a basic rec boat. What is the model name?

Assuming it is a white water boat