tractor seats vs bench seats

I have no experience w/ tractor seats, such as available on most wenonah solo lake canoes and quite a few of their tandems, such as MN II.

Do they offer equal stability as kneeling off a bench seat, or using a kneeling thwart?

Thanx for any input! …Bill

Tractor seats are very comfy.
That said, I can’t imagine having the control you would with have the 3 point kneeling contact. In my Wenonah Voyager,I put minicell pads on the gunnels so I can brace in rough conditions.Not that good from a tractor seat,but adequate.

The one canoe we bought with tractor
seats had them set exactly at the correct height for kneeling. We added knee pads, and were very happy with the tractor seats. The front edge might be padded, or you might tip the tractor seat up a bit at the back so your bottom is supported by more of the front edge.

Stability
In my experience, stability falls thusly:

1. Kneeling (however one wishes)
  2. (there is no #2)
  3. Tractor seats - sitting
  4. Banch seats - sitting

The contours of a tractor seat do help, but don’t come anywhere near teh security of kneeling.

Jim

Depending on how they are mounted
If they are hung like a bench seat or the frame they ride on is narrow enough you can kneel quite nicely on a tractor seat. The Voyager has a narrow frame (7"?)and I can kneel quite well in that. The Wenonah J Boats have a wider frame (12"). I can not kneel in that boat.

The Sea-1 I had had an adjustable hung seat. At the top setting I could kneel comfortably in that. At lower settings my feet wouldn’t fit underneath.

Kneeling the stability is the same tractor or bench seat.

The place I don’t care for tractor seats is in wider boats. The tractor limits you to center seating. A bench lets you favor one side or the other.

I prefer kneeling but if I found sitting more comfortable I’d be looking for a way to gain some hull control. Maybe stirups on a foot brace or thigh hooks under the gunnels?

Tommy

I have a Spirit II