Training ?

I am a beginner paddler. I am also over 60 years old. What is the best way for me to increase by ability to paddle for longer distances?.

Currently, I can paddle for three miles in about 45 minuets. At the end , I am about done in and it takes 20 min. before I can continue any further. Then after another mile I am really done in and require a much longer break before continueing.

In order to increase stamina, Is it better to go long [relative] distance at a slower pace, or short distance at a faster[again relative] pace.

I also realise that technique , actually, lack of, is an additional factor that has to be addressed at some point.

I am well aware that at this stage of my life I am not going to turn myself into a "paddeling machine". I would just like to get to the point of being able to do an eight - 12 mile paddle without requireing a cardiac team standing by.

Will be thankfull for any advice.

Mix it up
3 miles in 45 minutes is a spritely pace for most beginners, particularly when you factor in boat, experience, conditioning etc… For example, a tour group on the coast of Maine may cover 8 miles but it takes them 4 hours and they barely crack 2 nm/hour (if that and they have fun). A leisurely pace. Others here on the board routinely cruise at 4-5+ in their workouts.

Like anything, seat time and mixing up cruising with sprinting will build endurance. Also paddling with others may also give yourself a sense of pace.

On the other hand, if you are in it for the speed, get a stopwatch and crank.

Technique

– Last Updated: Jul-29-06 11:06 AM EST –

Take a lesson from someone, preferably an instructor. If you're not using rotation to power the stroke, you'll tire a lot faster.