Trans Amazon Kayak trip with Neris inflatable

I have been travelling to the Amazon Forest for many years now and it was a dream of mine to do a solo expedition in remote areas of the Brazilian jungle. After years of work, training and preparation I thought I was finally ready. It all started in the Cucui area (border of Brazil and Venezuela), the Rio Negro would take me down to the Amazon River and this 1400 km adventure would also take care of my pride very fast. I saw the trust in myself disappear and soon I realized how lucky I was to finish each day. I left the comfortable life of my home in the US after a long 2 years of preparation. Most of my training was based on long distance Kayaking and orientation with more than basic maps (actually there is no detailed commercial maps of the Brazilian Amazon available). I am no expert kayaker and even if I did some long-distance trips on canoe, I know now that I barely qualify for this kind of paddling, at least on paper. My past two travels around the world were done on motorcycle, 4x4 and sail boat, but kayaking for that long of a distance would be a challenge.

From day one I started with a serious problem; the Amazon River is in a huge flood this year. Actually, the water level was at a height not seen for over 100 years and when you translate that in numbers, this means that the river was actually 30 meters above its normal level. A normal guy would have waited another year but after being confined for almost two years there was no way to delay my departure.

After a long 20 hours flight I arrived in Manaus Brazil, anxious to see if my kayak was intact and ready to start my trip. All went well at the airport and after a quick check of all my gears and a rapid set up of my kayak in my hotel room I started to organize myself for the next leg of the trip, a 3 hours flight in a small plane from Manaus to Sao Gabriel da Cachoeira, from where I would launch.