Transportation Methods for 2 Kayaks

Hi everyone, I’m brand new to kayaking and am super excited about it. I bought my girlfriend one as well and we are eager to get started. First thing’s first though, I have a truck and she has a Corolla. What would be the best method in transporting to kayaks?

-Brandon

A little short on info
Just to start off. If they are short plastic kayaks and you only intend to transport them a short distance, you could tie them into the bed of the truck. That worked for me for years.

David

kayak basics
You can carry just about any pair of kayaks on the roof of a Corolla with a decent roof rack. Though you can buy a cheap set of foam blocks, straps and tie offs for about $40 (for each boat), it would make more sense to buy a Thule roof rack. The Thule site will tell which components fit on her make and model – they tend to be expensive but once you have the model numbers for the “feet” that attach to the car you can often find them cheaper on Ebay. Used ones are fine.

For the truck it depends on whether you have a cap or not. There are various ways you can rack boat on a pickup if you don’t have a cap. If they are short boats you can lay them in the bed or prop them against the cab and lash them to the roof. You will probably want to equip both cars with a way to haul them so you can set up a shuttle for river trips with a car at the put in and take out.