Transporting my kayak - need help

Hi All,

I’m a newbie to Kayaking and I plan to go out and buy a moderately priced kayak. My thought is that with my busy schedule, I may not get to use it as much as I would like. I am also trying to figure out what I need to transport it; as the cost appears to be almost 1/2 the price of the kayak itself. Here are the reqs:

4 door Honda Accord

12 foot tandem sit-on-top kayak

No more than 10 Kayak trips per year

Travel no more than 70 miles from home

Some highway speeds (needs to be secure)

Less than $250.00

I’m toying with trying to get by with a foam block kit rather than a thule rack. Any suggestions? Any successes with a foam kit? Any help would be appreciated.

John

ORS racks

– Last Updated: Apr-27-07 5:23 PM EST –

ORS racks is the cheapst online store I've found for car racks. They're having a 20% off sale. You can get a standard yakima system right now for $263, and that includes everything: the Q towers, the cross bars, all the clips needed for a Honda Accord, and the LandShark saddles (it doesn't include the straps, but walmart straps work fine). Shipping is free. I've gotten my racks from ORS, and they were fine to work with. The system will last forever, and you can carry other stuff on it too (we use ours for all the trips to Ikea--you save a fortune on delivery!). (I used foam blocks for a while because I'm a cheapskate at heart, but what a hassle!) Resale value of yakama and thule racks are very high.

RackAttack has similar prices--$267 for the thule system that would fit your car. You don't need all the extra stuff--fancy hully rollers, locks, faring.

Forget the saddles but get everything
else.

Then put the boat on upside on the bars - maybe pad them with a pool noodle, and tie the boat down. Don’t forget bow and stern lines.

Inflatable?