Transporting on racks upside down

I am new to the sport and was wondering if transporting a kayak upside down across my factory racks is a good way to carry my new kayak? Any drawbacks? Thanks

i’ve wondered too…
for a plastic boat, there are a couple things to think about. in gross terms, first is bending the boat with your front/rear tiedowns. for that, i think the advantage goes to upside-down boat. but then there’s the two points of tiedown, strapping the boat to the rack, and issues of putting smaller dents in the boat. in that case, the cross-section becomes most important. i’d expect the rounder surface (whether deck or bottom) to resist point buckling against the hard rack, and would much rather subject my flatter surface to the ties, which will contact the entire surface.

jmo… there are kayak blocks to reduce the point contact, making such rhetoric less important.

plastic not really a problem
I transported my Elaho (plastic) for over 2yrs deck side down with no problems. The bow and stern tie downs should only have the slack taken out of them, they should not be bending the boat in any way. If you spend $30 or so, you can use the foam saddles and put your boat right side up. Now this is something that I experienced and is the reason I now use two bow tiedowns instead of just one. I was going to Lake Del Valle and the wind was pushing my boat so badly that I needed to have tension from both the right and left side of the front of the boat to keep it from moving. The center straps were only able to do so much, when I put two front straps on the bow of the boat, no problem. Hope this helps.

Upside down
I try to protect my varnished wood strip hull as much as possible, hence transport it deck down. The deck is closer to flat than the hull, and comforms to the 2x4 supports with less foam to support it.