Transporting Questions

Just got the roof rack installed on my mini, and we’re ready for adventures :D! However, I’m still pretty new to the kayaking world and just upgraded from an inflatable this year so do have a few questions when it comes to hauling around a boat that can’t be folded up into a bag (and avoid any chance of there being some sort for Final Destination mishap on the highway).

The kayak is a Field & Stream Blade (45 lbs, 9’7’) and I don’t usually drive too far (which will likely change) but do drive on the highway most of the time.

• Difference between using the J racks and just using the crossbars? I would only be transporting one boat so space isn’t an issue. If J racks make life easier, recommendations on something easy to load and if possible not super expensive.
  • Best way to load a kayak onto a car with a small rear spoiler (I’ve watched a bunch of videos with the “from the back method” but that doesn’t seem like it would work here). I’m also pretty small, and currently have noodle arms so unfortunately can’t just hoist the thing up there like the hulk (I freaking wish). So if ya’ll have any tips there, they would be super appreciated.

Thanks so much in advance for your help :D.

J racks much tougher for solo load than just getting it onto a flatter surface any way you can then sort out the details.

I have a bigger spoiler than yours, use the Amagansett roller loader and it clears the spoiler enough. Allows me to get one end onto the wheels then slide it on up. Look at their web site.

I am concerned about the length of your boat regardless, but your car is lower than mine. By a lot. Longer boats are easier. But l suspect you could make it work, then just onto foam on your bars.

Another alternative is supports that work with a third-party rack like from Thule, Yakima etc but l don’t know if you are ready to spend that money.

1 Like