Triming a Canoe

I’m new to canoeing and her people talk about propperly trimming a canoe. How do you determine that a canoe is properly trimmed?

I understand the point is for the boat’s weight distribution to be such that it’s hull performance is maximized. For a solo canoe the optimum positon would seem to be a slight aft bias since the seats are usually mounted slightley aft of center. If the answer to the question depends upon the canoe then please answer in context of the Wenona Prism because that’s the canoe I’ve decided to purchase. Thanks for your advice.

purpose is
basically to maximixe your use/fun. For control on windless days in flat water you would go for level.(throw some water in the bilge and see what it does)

In moving water the general feeling is slightly stern heavy. In a Wenonah in the wind you probobly would want to skeg the rear by going stern down, if you were turning into the wind. For all out speed I trim bow down at rest and paddle like heck to bring the bow up. At least that is how I recall with out any coffee in me.

Trimming a canoe
Generally speaking in calm conditions your boat should be level, but without gear and/or another person aboard, this can be difficult to achieve without using the center position. In wind however, you want to trim a little DOWN on the UPWIND end as this will cause the boat to act somewhat like a weathervane and not get blown from side to side as much. If the upwind side is higher, the wind will try to swing the boat end for end.

Trimming on the fly

– Last Updated: Jan-16-09 9:16 AM EST –