Trolling for Salmon on Lake Michigan

I would like to hear from any of you who troll for Stealhead or Coho Salmon on Lake Michigan, especially in the Chicago area. I am curious as to your rigging and equipment used as well as speed baits or lure selection, etc.

Thanks, Paul

How to Catch Salmon
How to Catch Salmon: Advanced Techniques by Charles White. Its a nice simple book from British Columbia. You can probably get it for about $3 on Amazon.com. If you like to cast and jig try a Buzz-Bomb, also sold in BC, but offered by Cabelas by mail order. By the way all your salmon come from the West Coast you might as well used West Coast proved methods. Tight lines.

Tackle…
Contact some of the Local Charter Boat Captains,or ask around some of the Local Bait & Tackle Shops and see what their Hitting on. Most likely they will hit the same thing?

http://ww2.netnitco.net/users/rbmc/

Been trying for 2 years now…
You pose a good question. I’ve been hacking it up for 2 years now (~10 trips) and have a big goose-egg to show for it. Though I’m getting more serious these days (depth finder).

I’ve progressed to using a dipsey diver & flasher, with a spoon several feet back. It’s my observation that salmon are VERY finicky. Most of the time I notice that the boat-anglers are also having a tough go of it. But occasionally they nail 'em and I can’t catch a cold. There are some online bulletin boards that charter boat captins frequent - they can be loaded with info.

I’m largely giving up on the trolling thing and am going to try “mooching”. Google it. It seems like a great tactic for deep summertime Great Lakes salmon. And I can’t figure out why nobody jigs a nice juicy shiner vertically. Or uses airplane jigs. So much to learn, so little works.

But the bottom line remains, I’m frustrated as hell, but at least I’m having fun kayaking while I’m frustrated.

fishing for salmon