Trolling motor/Canoe Charging question

Ok so I’m thinking about getting a trolling motor set up for my canoe, the only problem that I have is the charging of the deep cycle battery. Now I don’t live on a lake and where I typically go camping/canoeing is primitive sites, so no electricity. So the only way to charge the battery would be coming from my car. So is it feasible to just hook up jumper cables and charge it that way? How long would it take to recharge doing it this way? Not sure I want to run the car for 4-5 hours every day to charge the battery.

Or the other option I was considering was getting a 25 amp quick charge charger and hook it up through a 1000-2000W power inverter. Going from 12vDC converted to 110AC through the inverter and then back to DC through the charger seems like a big waste of energy (although I’m not an electrical engineer so who knows)

Any thoughts? Or is this just not feasible without a electric hookup?

Thanks

have a look at the MinnKota …

– Last Updated: Feb-03-10 6:49 PM EST –

...... Traxxis w/maximizer (variable speed) technology in 45 lb. - 12v - 36" ... "maximizer" saves big on batt. usage and gives you greater time endurance on any batt.

have a look at the "2 bank" , 3 stage chargers MK 210P or MK 230P .

I would suggest having 2 marine deep cycle (6 cell) marine batts. (at least 115 AH) . Use one at a time , keep 2nd in spare . You need to keep the batts. on the charger all the time to maintain them , when not in service as in home from a trip (hence the trickle charge maintenance stage) .

You can think of the AH rating as how much fuel (time) you have on a batt. , the larger AH the longer run time , but weight and size goes up with AH also .

If you keep those batts. well charged and maintained , you should have tons of hour usage time with that set up ... like 3 days is not inconcievable !!

You are kidding about using a car to recharge a marine deep cycle batt. , right ??