Trouble Securing Kayak

I am having trouble with figuring out how I am supposed to secure my kayak to my car properly. I am brand new to kayaking with the exception of renting one once a year ago. I just bought a package that includes a kayak, paddle and car-top carrier. There are no instructions in the package, so I thought it must be pretty self-explanatory.

This is the carrier kit I have:

https://www.amazon.com/Lavika-Kayak-Car-Top-Carrier-Kit/dp/B0046FZJ6K

The package I bought:

http://www.canadiantire.ca/en/pdp/pelican-peak-packaged-kayak-10-ft-0798566p.html

(It’s usually $500 CDN but I got it for $350!)

This is my SUV with the factory roof racks:

http://static.usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/images/Auto/izmo/333843/2012_ford_escape_angularfront.jpg

I don’t know if those links will help but I put them there in case it’s easier to understand what I have.

There is one long strap that has a buckle on one end, which I measured to be 170”. There are 2 smaller straps with hooks permanently attached to one end that are 165”, and I think to accompany those are 2 short straps that have a buckle and hook each that are 11”.

I originally thought that the long strap was useless and I would just use the two smaller hook straps combined with the tiny buckle straps to secure my kayak using the roof rack. Upon researching though it appears as if it is almost mandatory that I tie the bow and stern to my bumpers (I haven’t even checked where on my car I would do this). Every video I’ve seen about strapping the kayak includes a strap per bow/stern, and two straps to secure it to the rack. So that’s 4 straps in total, but I was only given 3!

Am I missing something about how to securely attach my kayak with the equipment I have? Did I get a kit that is crap and doesn’t give me all of what I really need? Any help would be appreciated!

cross bars
Does your factory rack have cross bars, or just the rails that go parallel to the length of the car?