Trouble w/ boat/skills- advice please

I took my new boat out last night and found it fun but had some difficulty, Old Town Predator K140.

I am 5’8" and 170lbs, had my Lab w/ me and she is 50lbs, still a puppy. She was positioned in the bow.

I am new to kayaking, some experience paddling a whitewater canoe, not necessarily on whitewater… it is just what my father has and I used a handful of times growing up. I also paddled a borrowed 9’ SOT a couple of weeks ago w/ my Lab to practice in a kayak until I got my own boat.

Both of these boats are very responsive to turning/correcting to stay on track. But last night I found myself struggling to get us back on course once the boat began tracking left or right.

I found that if we were beginning to track one direction or the other, I would paddle an extra stroke, or two or three on that same side, (tracking left, I would paddle extra strokes on the left to correct), but we would continue to track left and not correct the direction back to the right.

I even had trouble using the blade as rudder, not sure if this is the correct way to refer to the blad action, on the opposite side to correct the direction and this did not correct quickly. I had to really reach to the rear of the boat for this techinque to be anywhat effective.

The next issue are the footrests. I did not have time to really go through the boat as I met a few fellows to paddle with, but the footrests fully moved back were still to far for me to reach for a comfortable position. I need to see about moving the seat forward. But this would seem to make correcting our tracking even more difficult by placing the seat more in the middle of the boat.

Thanks for any help,

Doug

I attempted to correct our course by paddling w/ a wider stroke from the boat, (placing the blade

not sure if putting your pooch
in the bow hatch is a good idea but that was your problem.

You say that your Lab is 50Lbs.

I assume that the stern had no additional weight.