TSALI ?? OT but paddling is involved

-- Last Updated: Jul-11-07 9:25 PM EST --

Next month I am taking my second trip this season to the Nantahala for a few days of paddling. Since my trip last month I have started doing some mountain biking and I am having a ball. My question is for anyone who has biked the TSALI Trail. Jarvis (coyotequip)and I are planning on taking our bikes with us on this trip and I am looking for any take on these trails, given that I am new to mountain biking and by no means an athlete, Am I getting in over my head? What say ye?

I will be taking this to a bike forum as well but I wanted to get the 411 from this group . I know you guys and know how to read through this boards responses. I am afraid that since I don’t know the personalities on the bike forum I could get answers from souped up Red Bull Jockeys who will say its a cake walk, only to get there and find it to be a roller coaster at Six Flags :-0

Thanks in advance,
Jay

Some of the best…
fast MTB trails in the east. well manicured trails with great singletrack and fast turns. Enjoy it!

Jon

Take the “mouse” trail
Mostly single track with lots of ups and downs.

There is only one place where you might want to get off the bike and walk for about 25 feet.

It is a smooth large rock that slopes off towards a drop off far below into Fontana Lake.

My wife and I chickened out and walked around it.

It is also a good place to stop for lunch.

Watch out for the occasional young crazies coming in the opposite direction. They think everyone is as good as they are and are liable to play chicken with you. (We pull off and watch them go screaming by)

Don’t go there on a weekend. Way too crowded.

combine a day of paddling on the Nantahala and another day of peddling in Tsali and it doesn’t

get any better than that.

Cheers,

JackL

Yep
http://trails.mtbr.com/cat/united-states-trails/trails-north-carolina/trail/PRD_169487_4567crx.aspx

The tsali trails are pretty easy