Tsunami 125 or Pungo 140?

Hi. I’m new to kayaking (~20 hours on the water) but have fallen in love. I didn’t pay much attention the first few times out, but I think I have mostly been in Perception boats, 10-12’ long (I think they were all 10-footers, but I can’t be sure). I mostly kayaked on Port Royal Sound, SC (and connected rivers) and had a couple of outings on the Cuyahoga River.

I live in northeast Ohio and expect to do most of my kayaking on local, decent sized lakes (>1,000 acres), but the most local lake with boating is only 50 acres. I would like to be able to go out on Lake Erie (from Cleveland/Bradstreet) on calm days (< 2’ waves?). I don’t expect to ever do any whitewater in this boat.

I’m 5’8" and weight ~ 200 lbs.

I mostly want to row for exercise, solitude, and enjoying the scenery – i.e., to paddle and glide. I would like to be able to fish from the boat, but could live without it if that isn’t a realistic expectation.

I’m currently considering the Wilderness Systems Tsunami 125 and the Pungo 140. I’ve seen the Tsunami 125 recommended over the Pungo 120, but not to the 140.

My concern(s) with the Pungo is that the cockpit feels really big, and I don’t know how well it will glide and track.

My concern with the Tsunami (125) is that it won’t handle as well on “big water” (Lake Erie) as the Pungo 140.

Unfortunately my local dealer doesn’t have a Pungo 140 (and showed no interest in ordering one for me) so I’ve no real way to compare. And LL Bean has both models on sale through August so I thought I might buy online.

Thanks in advance!

too small