Tsunami 145 vs Manitou 14

-- Last Updated: May-05-06 4:05 PM EST --

Whats yalls thoughts on these two yaks. Im 6' 230lbs and I was looking for a good general purpose yak both seem to fit the bill on my budget.Im planing on using it for lakes , rivers (class I)and some long runs down the rivers to the cheasepeke bay and arbermal (ms)Sound in NC. I plan on going to a shop tommorow to put my hind parts in both of them to see if there is a fit differance.The dealer also said the zoar sport was in the same class and price range but I havnt read much on it.

I used to have a WW yak but thats been years ago so Im a born again newbie.I got into my friends perception captiva the other day and Im hooked again :) Hope my bass boat doesnt get jealous ;)
Thanks yall

The Manitou…or
I’d go with the Manitou. Seems WS has some quality control problems these days. Check out a Liquidlogic Pisgah too. A great boat that tops both these, IMHO.

QC
I agree on the quality issues WS had, but i don’t think Necky is much better. Ive been hearing this from many people and even stores that used to sell them that aparently ever since they became american, now part of Johnson outdoors,the quality has gone down the drain.

Tsunami
by far. but that is just my opinion. I got talked out of getting the Tsunami 145 when I was looking and got the Tempest 170 instead. Glad I did as I progressed a little farther along than I thought I would when I was first looking.

But the Tsunami was definitely the boat of choice as it was a good all around transitional to sea kayak. You may want to look at the 140 also. I was 6 ft and 235 when I started and the 140 seemed just right. Unless you are planning on week long camping, not sure if the 145 would be necessary. I am now down between 195 and 200 and this is specifically because I use the kayak as my gym. (less than a year)